Skip Navigation LinksHome > News > Victorian Champion Young Farmer Team Announced

Victorian Champion Young Farmer Team Announced

The Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria (RASV) has announced the winning team of the 2016 Young Farmer Challenge state final is captain Mitchell Hepburn and teammates Matt Reeves, Laura Ross, Darcie Seers and Hettie Davidson, representing Clunes, Victoria.

Conducted annually by RASV in partnership with Victorian Young Farmers, the Young Farmer Challenge is an entertaining, fast-paced event that promotes and celebrates excellence in farming and recognises the next generation of farmers.

The competition took place on the opening night of the 2016 Royal Melbourne Show in front of a captivated audience on Herald Sun Arena.

Teams of four farmers aged 16 to 30, race against the clock to complete a series of challenges to demonstrate the breadth of technical skills used by farmers in everyday field activities, including stacking hay, leading an alpaca and erecting a portable fence.

RASV CEO Mark O’Sullivan said the competition recognises the importance of young farmers’ involvement in the agricultural industry. “RASV is committed to supporting the next generation of agricultural leaders through a number of programs, initiatives and competitions, including the Young Farmer Challenge,”

“Congratulations to the winning team representing Clunes, who have displayed an incredible array of skills in a competition that showcases and celebrates the modern day farmer.”

The Australian Young Farmer Challenge is a national initiative developed by the Australian Council of Agricultural Societies (ACAS) and run by agricultural societies and organisations across Australia, including RASV.

The National Finals will be held at the 2017 Royal Melbourne Show in September next year.