Skip Navigation LinksHome > News > 2014 Royal Melbourne Wine Awards winners announced

2014 Royal Melbourne Wine Awards winners announced

The results for the 2014 Royal Melbourne Wine Awards (RMWA) were announced on Thursday 16 October following an extensive week of judging and tasting of the 3,183 wines entered.

The coveted Jimmy Watson Memorial Trophy was awarded to the S.C. Pannell Adelaide Hills Syrah 2013. It was the second time Steve Pannell has taken home the Watson Trophy after also winning in 1996 for the Eileen Hardy Shiraz 1995, during his tenure as Chief Red Winemaker at Hardy's.

There were 23 trophies awarded in total including 2 new awards this year: The Victorian Trophy for Wines of Provenance, in recognition of the Victorian winery/producer who has demonstrated consistency of excellence over three vintages spanning a decade. This inaugural trophy was awarded to Granite Hills Winery for their2004, 2008 and 2013 Granite Hills Riesling.  The second new trophy was in recognition of excellence in viticulture; The Kym Ludvigsen Trophy for Viticultural Excellence. The awarding of this trophy acknowledged  a true team effort between vineyard owners John Funder & Val Diamond, Mario Pagotto, a retired Italian farmer who works the land, wine consultant Steve Sadlier and David Bicknell CEO & Chief Winemaker at Oakridge Wines. 

The awarding of the Ludvigsen Trophy for 2014 linked to the grapes used to produce the award winning Douglas Seabrook Single Vineyard Trophy which this year was awarded to the Oakridge 864 Funder & Diamond Block Chardonnay 2012.

Congratulations to all trophy and medal winners from this year’s awards.  For full results please visit

The RMWA also held a consumer tasting event, Uncorked, at Melbourne’ Collins Place where wine lovers were offered an opportunity to sample the many medal winning wines from this year’s awards.