Skip Navigation LinksHome > News > Royal Melbourne Wine Awards - Entries Open

Royal Melbourne Wine Awards - Entries Open

Entries are open for the 2014 Royal Melbourne Wine Awards (RMWA) until 1 August. This year sees the introduction of two new trophies: The Kym Ludvigsen Trophy for Viticultural Excellence and The Victorian Trophy for Wines of Provenance.

The RMWA is both excited and honoured to have the opportunity to be able to recognise the legacy left by the late Kym Ludvigsen with the new Kym Ludvigsen Trophy for Viticultural Excellence. Kym’s passion and dedication to viticulture developed and advanced the landscape of Australian vineyards.  The trophy in his name is recognition of excellence in the area of viticulture and goes to the grower or team behind the grapes that produce the single vineyard trophy wine.

The Victorian Trophy for Wines of Provenance is a new trophy that replaces the Best Victorian Table Wine Trophy. This trophy is a nod to the wine producer who shows consistency, quality and excellence over a minimum of 10 years. This award truly recognizes the skill of the wine maker with three vintages of the same wine label being assessed. All wines must be 100% Victorian to be eligible.

These new trophies complement the line-up of the prestigious champion  trophies associated with the RMWA. The Jimmy Watson Memorial Trophy for the Best Red Wine of the 2012 & 2013 Vintages, The James Halliday Trophy for Best Pinot Noir, The Trevor Mast Trophy for Best Shiraz, The Francois De Castella Trophy for Best Young White Wine, The Douglas Seabrook Single Vineyard Trophy and the Bill Chambers Trophy for Best Fortified Wine.

Learn more about the Royal Melbourne Wine Awards