Skip Navigation LinksHome > News > Media Release: McLennan-McColl Victorian Flock of the Year heads to Gippsland

Media Release: McLennan-McColl Victorian Flock of the Year heads to Gippsland

The McLennan-McColl Victorian Flock of the Year competition, presented by The Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria in partnership with Merino Victoria, heads to Gippsland next week with eight properties entered into the prestigious competition.

Recently renamed in honour of two of the Merino industry’s most well-respected, wool producer, Neil McLennan and sheep classer, Keith McColl, the award celebrates and assists with improving the quality of Victoria’s merino ewe flocks.

Judges Michael Collins, owner of Mt Bute stud and Phil Toland, stud principal, Toland Merinos, will tour the properties next Friday 13 March to select the winner, who will be presented with the $1500 prize that evening during a BBQ celebration at the final property, proudly sponsored by East Gippsland Shire.

An encouragement prize of $200, a new initiative sponsored by Gippsland Merino Breeders, will also be presented as part of the formalities.

Other entrants, fellow producers or interested parties will also have the opportunity to view production systems and learn best practice management with competing properties open over the day of judging.

Those interested in viewing the properties can register for the free bus service provided by RASV, which includes lunch and BBQ dinner, or can choose to travel in their own vehicle with property opening times available at the RASV website (

RASV CEO Mark O’Sullivan said the organisation was delighted with the response to the 2015 McLennan-McColl Victorian Flock of the Year and was looking forward to see who would take the crown, from the quality field entered.

“Victoria is home to some outstanding sheep and wool producers, so we anticipate the judges will have a very difficult, but enjoyable task in front of them,” said Mr O’Sullivan.

“This competition is part of RASV’s commitment to showcasing Victorian agriculture and supporting our local producers through credible benchmarking, insightful industry knowledge sharing and providing a seal of excellence, the Flock of the Year award.”

For a full schedule of property opening times, more information on the competition or to register for the free property tour bus visit or contact Fiona Looker, RASV on 03 9281 7412 or

For all media enquiries and images, please contact:

Mikaila Gaskell, Communications Manager, RASV
03 9281 7436 / 0408 798 486 / 

2015 McLennan-MColl Flock of the Year Entrants (in no particular order)

St Katharines Darriman P/L 375 Four Mile Creek Rd, Darriman, 3851
AR & AJ Missen 293 Burdetts Rd, Woodside, 3874
NT Collins 86 Balloong Rd, Hunterston, 3971
Gavin Missen 225 Cherry Tree Road, Woodside, 3874
DJ Boland & JL Peavey 26 McGaurans Beach Rd, Giffard via Sale, 3851
JCJ & LM White 155 Resides Lane, via Bairnsdale, 3875
SF & RK Davidson Cowells Lane, Walpa, 3875
Millring Pastoral 461 Henderson Rd, Toongabbie, 3856