Skip Navigation LinksHome > News > Media release: Announcing the 2015 Australian International Coffee Awards winners

Media release: Announcing the 2015 Australian International Coffee Awards winners

Champion Australian Roaster achieves back-to-back win and Indonesia triumphs

The results are in for the 2015 Australian International Coffee Awards (AICA), presented by The Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria (RASV), with winners announced last night at Awards Presentation, part of the ‘MICE Night Out’ Cocktail Party . Five major trophies have been awarded to three of Australia’s premier coffee roasters and one of Indonesia’s best.

These results follow the rigorous and meticulous judging process last week, which saw an elite panel of local and international industry specialists sample and critique almost 700 coffee entries.

Aroma Coffee from Marrickville NSW has taken out the coveted Champion Australian Roaster trophy for the second year in a row (in addition to the Champion Filter Coffee trophy for the second year in a row) – cementing their place as leaders in the global coffee arena.

Aroma Coffee is a boutique roaster and socially responsible ethical buyer of premium speciality coffees from around the globe, who source mostly by direct trade ensuring better financial outcome for farmers.

The Champion Australian Roaster trophy is awarded to the Australian roaster with the highest average score, calculated on the basis of the roaster’s three top scoring exhibits. The award recognises excellence in and consistency of quality coffee roasting.

The Champion International Roaster trophy was this year awarded to Tanamera from Jakarta, Indonesia. The win is a huge boost for the region and testament to the quality of local beans grown in an increasingly flourishing coffee industry.

AICA Chief Judge Peter Wolff said, “Congratulations to all of this year’s Champions of the AICA. Judging was thorough and rigorous and out of this process there emerged a number of outstanding entries. The trophy winners produced absolutely top notch coffees, with two blends and a single origin coffee which are exemplary. The coffee roasters should be lauded for the quality of their coffee and immensely proud of their achievements.”

The 2015 AICA Champions are:

  • Champion International Roaster presented by RASV:
    Tanamera, Jakarta Indonesia
  • Champion Australian Roaster presented by Bonsoy:
    Aroma Coffee, Marrickville NSW
  • Champion Filter Coffee presented by MICE:
    Destinations Panama Boquete Beauty by Aroma Coffee, Marrickville, NSW
  • Champion Milk based Coffee presented by Lion Dairy and Drinks:
    Organic Roast by MFC Roasters, Kew, VIC
  • Champion Espresso Coffee presented by Espresso Mechanics:
    Best of Africa by Mikro Coffee Roasters, Mount Gambier, SA.

For more information and full results (including the full list of Gold, Silver and Bronze medal winners) visit


The Australian International Coffee Awards (AICA), conducted by the Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria (RASV), is Australia’s premier coffee awards competition. The AICA celebrates and showcases coffee roasting excellence in Australia and around the world. It presents coffee roasters with the opportunity to benchmark their coffee and achieve distinction amongst industry peers.

For interviews or further media enquiries, please contact:
Kristina Manasieva | littleBIG Marketing & PR | (03) 9025 9574 |