Skip Navigation LinksHome > News > RASV adds two new trophies to Australian Distilled Spirits Awards

RASV adds two new trophies to Australian Distilled Spirits Awards

RASV has added two new trophies to the prestigious Australian Distilled Spirits Awards program, reflecting emerging trends in production and growing consumer interest in locally-produced, high-quality spirits.

In response to the increased local creation of Aromatic Bitters, a type of production previously dominated by international brands, the 2017 awards will include an Aromatic Bitters category, to assist producers with benchmarking and developing flavour enhancers.

Acknowledging the increasing trend toward inventive, experimental micro batch spirits and liqueurs, the 2017 also sees the introduction of the Champion Australian Micro Batch Spirit, defined as coming from a single distillation, barrel or cask where the output or capacity is not greater than 100 litres.

Mark O’Sullivan, CEO of The Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria, the organisation behind the ADSA, as well as the renowned Royal Melbourne Wine Awards and Australian International Beer Awards, says the new additions are all about ensuring the awards are innovative and provide significant value and opportunity to Australian distillers.

“We are continually evolving and improving the Australian Distilled Spirits Awards by introducing categories that are reflective of current trends, are relevant to the industry and create more and greater opportunity for distillers who participate.”

The ADSA are the first and only standalone national spirits awards and is open to Australian distillers from boutique and artisan brands producing small batches and small volume beverages to established, large volume producers.

Including the new additions, there are a total of 11 Champion trophies on offer this year covering the categories of Whisky, Gin, Vodka, Brandy, Rum, Liqueurs, Alternative Spirits and Small Batch Spirits culminating in the Australian Distiller of the Year award which recognises the overall Champion Australian Distiller and is open to all who enter the awards.

More information on the awards, including entry details can be found at