Skip Navigation LinksHome > News > McLennan-McColl Flock of the Year heads to North-East Victoria next month

McLennan-McColl Flock of the Year heads to North-East Victoria next month

The McLennan-McColl Victorian Flock of the Year competition, presented by The Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria (RASV) in partnership with Merino Victoria, heads to North-East Victoria next week with nine properties entered into the prestigious competition.

The event will increase from one to two days of judging this year. The appointed panel including retired Co-Founder of One Oak Merino Stud Graham Wells, experienced Merino breeder and former Vice President of the Australian Stud Merino Breeders Jock MacRae and 2014 RASV Young Australian Sheep Breeder of the Year, Daniel Rogers will assess the flocks on the 16 & 17 March.

Culminating in the presentation of the $1500 cash prize winner on the final evening, the competition also encourages residents of the area and industry participants to view production systems and best practice management, with RASV offering a free shuttle bus service to the competing properties.

RASV CEO Mark O’Sullivan said the 2016 McLennan-McColl Victorian Flock of the Year had been well received in the North-East Victoria region, with the organisation encouraged by the continual growth of entries.

“RASV is committed to providing opportunities in regional areas, for producers to benchmark their operations, showcase excellence and promote the development of the industry,” said Mr O’Sullivan.

“We are delighted to see so many high calibre properties on the list of entrants for the 2016 Flock of the Year and look forward to observing the outstanding quality of merino production in the North-East region next month.”

The competition, sponsored in 2016 by North East Merino Group, Elders Rural Services, Landmark and Peter Davis Rural, will also incorporate the North East Victoria Sire Evaluation, supported by the Australian Merino Sire Evaluation Association and the North East Merinos, displaying both 2014 and 2015 drops on Day 1 of competition.

For a full schedule of property opening times, more information on the competition or to register for the free property tour bus visit or contact Grant Coverdale, RASV on 03 9281 7412 or

For all media enquiries and images, please contact:
Mikaila Gaskell, Communications Manager, RASV
03 9281 7436 / 0408 798 486 /

2016 McLennan-MColl Flock of the Year Entrants (in judging order)

Day 1

  • David Sleigh 1707 Longwood – Ruffy Road, Ruffy, 3666

  • Robert and Tim Hayes 211 Tarcombe-Ruffy Road, Ruffy 3666

  • David Freeman 935 Highlands Road, Whiteheads Creek, Seymour, 3660*

  • John Gross and Neil Seach Castle Creek 390 Curries Road, Molka, 3666

Day 2

  • Tom Wren 321 School Road, Tungamah, 3728

  • Simon Wall 1275 Cemetery Road, Gowangardie 3669

  • Robert Prowse & Ray Penberthy 390 Ross Road Frederick Hill, Violet Town, 3669

  • Jim & Liz Renkin 47 Lima Road Swanpool, Lima, 3673

  • Andrew & Kerri Leask 1866 Samaria Road, Moorngag Via Benalla, 3673

*The North East Victoria Sire Evaluation will take place at David Freeman’s property on Day 1.