Skip Navigation LinksHome > Events > Royal Melbourne Show > Horses in Action > Competition Information > Major Awards

Major Awards

The Garryowen Perpetual Trophy

The Garryowen Perpetual Trophy is awarded to the winner of the Garryowen Equestrienne Turnout - one of the most prestigious equestrienne events in Australia. It was named after three-time Royal Melbourne Show champion saddle horse, Garryowen, whose owner Violet Murrell, died tragically whilst trying to save the horse from a stable fire in 1934.
Violet Murrell was an accomplished horse rider and jockey. Commonly introduced as the “The Queen of Racing”, Violet Murrell was an ambassador for women in the equestrian and racing industries.
Violet was so highly regarded by the horse fraternity that they immediately established a fitting memorial for her – the Garryowen Trophy for the best Equestrienne Turnout. The first competition was held at the 1934 Royal Melbourne Show.
Female riders aged 18 years and over (or ‘equestriennes’) are the only riders eligible to compete. Horses and riders are judged by six judges on the following components:
  • Horses conformation and soundness
  • Horses manners and paces
  • Saddlery
  • Costume
  • Riding ability
  • General appearance

Prince of Wales Cup

The Prince of Wales Cup was first introduced in 1971. It is a Showjumping special event and is open to Group A and Group B showjumping exhibitors.

The Alice Laidlaw Memorial Trophy

The award was named after Alice Laidlaw who was a long-time successful exhibitor of hacks, hunters and trotters who died at the height of her success in 1947. The award was first introduced in 1948 and is presented to the best lady rider 18 years and over judged over hunt panels.

Noel Mason Perpetual Trophy

The Noel Mason Perpetual Trophy was introduced in 1986. It is awarded to the winner of the Qualified Hunter’s Plate, judged on the best exhibition of jumping at hunting pace. The trophy is named after Noel Mason, who was Master of Findon Hunt Club from 1949-1989 and was one of Australia’s top amateur jumping riders and long standing RASV Horse Stewards.

Alistair Irving Memorial Trophy

The bronze Australian Stock Horse statue trophy was first awarded to the Champion Working Australian Stock Horse in 1988. The award is named in memory of Alistair Irving, who played a huge part in the development of the Australian Stock Horse Society, as both a Director and Chairman of the Board. He was also an Australian Stock Horse breeder, classifier, judge and competitor.

Doug Findlay Memorial Trophy 

The Doug Findlay Memorial Trophy was introduced in 1997 and is awarded to the best two year old colt bred by the exhibitor. The trophy is to be won three times before becoming the property of the exhibitor. Doug Findlay bred Clydesdales which he exhibited at the Royal Melbourne Show on numerous occasions. In 1989 he became the inaugural secretary of the Commonwealth Clydesdale Horse Society Victorian Branch, a position he held until his passing in 1996.

R & J Galloway Clydesdale Challenge Cup

The R & J Clydesdale Challenge Cup was introduced in 1981 and is awarded to the best Clydesdale male, two years old or over. The award is named after Bob and James Galloway who successfully bred and exhibited Clydesdales at their ‘Hillend Stud’ at Majorcca.

Allan Marriott Perpetual Trophy

The Allan Marriott Perpetual Trophy was introduced in 2009 and is awarded to the Best Harness Clydesdale Exhibit. Allan Marriot was involved with working Clydesdale horses and was a long-term and successful exhibitor of harness Clydesdales. He was founder of the Aaarunga Clydesdale Stud and took great pride in the horses he exhibited.

George Adams Tattersall Perpetual Trophy

The George Adams Tattersall Perpetual Trophy was introduced in 1973 and is awarded to the Champion Saddle Horse over 15 hands.

K.G. Luke Perpetual Cup

The K.G. Luke Perpetual Cup was introduced in 1977 and was named after Kenneth Luke, who served as a RASV Council Member from 1950 until his passing in 1971. It is awarded to the winner of the K.G. Luke Equestrian Turnout for girls and boys 15 years and under 18 years of age. 

Louis Epstein Perpetual Trophy

The Louis Epstein Perpetual trophy was introduced in 1936. It is awarded to the winner of the J. Pemberton Equestrian Turnout for girls and boys between 12 years and 15 years of age.

Metherall Perpetual Trophy

The Metherall Perpetual Trophy was introduced in 1990. The trophy is awarded to the most successful rider in jumping competitions and is named after Rupert Metherall who competed at the Royal Melbourne Show from 1927 to 1973. He rode and owned some of the best jumpers in Australia during the nineteen forties and fifties and represented horse exhibitors at the EFA for twenty years.

The Col. A.V. Pope Cup

The Pope Cup was first won in 1950 and is presented to the best saddle exhibit over 15 hands that displays thoroughbred qualities, based on manners, paces and performance. The Cup is named after Colonel A.V. Pope who served in the Indian Army and was a top polo player. 

Providence Cup

The Providence Cup was introduced in 2012.  It is presented to the best Show Hunter over 14 hands which in the opinion of the judge shows Show Hunter qualities. The class is open to mares and geldings and is officiated by three judges.

Joan Pearson Shield

The Joan Pearson Shield was introduced in 1990 and is awarded to the winning trio from the Hunt Clubs Team Jumping Contest. The teams are judged on performance over the fences and general appearance. The shield was named in memory of Joan Pearson who was a leading showjumping exhibitor at the Royal Melbourne Show for many years.

Garryowen Hall of Fame

The Garryowen Hall of Fame was established in 2009 to honour riders, horses and those who have provided exceptional service to the Garryowen Equestrienne Turnout. Winners are announced at the Garryowen Cocktail Party during the Royal Melbourne Show.