Skip Navigation LinksHome > Events > Australian Food Awards > Competition Information > Judging Process

Judging Process

Judging will take place in February, July and August 2017. 




 28 February                     
 Garlic  Garlic
 6 July  Convenience Food; Grains &  Pulses  Bread

 7 July

 Grain and Pulses; Pasta; Legumes

 Baked Goods, Pasta, Grains & Legumes

 10 July


 Dairy; Sheep, Goat & Buffalo; Ice Cream; Gelato, Sorbet

 11 July  Pantry Goods  Sweet Preserves; Confectionery; Honey

 12 July

 Pantry Goods; Chocolates;  Convenience Foods

 Savoury Preserves; Chocolates; Cereals & Mueslies; Fruit and  Nuts; Spices; Snack Foods; Stock and Jus

 17 July

 18 July


 Beef; Lamb; Pork; Goat 

 19 July

 Meat & Poultry 

 Smallgoods; Uncooked Sausages; Chicken; Duck; Eggs 

 20 July


 Fish; Molluscs; Crustaceans; Preserved Seafood; Edible Seaweed

 18 August

 Pantry Goods

 Extra Virgin Olive Oil; Table Olives

 19 August

 Pantry Goods

 Extra Virgin Olive Oil; Table Olives

 24 August

 Champion Australian Product/  Produce &
 Champion Organic Product/    Produce

Each class will be assigned to a judging panel or judging panels where the entries will be blind tasted.

Entries will be allocated a Tasting Order number, separate from Exhibit number to ensure the integrity of the judging process.

Each judging panel will consist of a minimum of three judges, which may include two or three Judges and an Associate (where appropriate).

Medals are awarded to products at this panel tasting round.

In the initial panel tasting round all Exhibits will be scored on the basis of points allocated by each judge.

Entries will be judged using a 100 point scoring system. Any gold medals awarded by a panel will be checked by the Head Judge to ensure consistency in the award of medals.

Medals will be awarded as follows:
Gold= 90 – 100 points
Silver= 82 – 89 points
Bronze= 74 – 81 points


The Best In Class Medals will be awarded to the highest scoring product in the Product Categories. Where there are multiple Classes feeding up to one Class, such as Cheese or Ice Cream, Gelato and Sorbet, and where there are split panels across Product Categories, a taste off of the highest scoring gold medal products will be tasted using the Borda Count Method. This will determine the Best in Class or Trophy winners.

When using the Borda Method to award a Champion Trophy for example, the Champion Convenience Food Trophy where four gold medal products will be tasted, the judging panel will identify their highest scoring product, all four products are then tasted off and ranked, with the best product receiving 3 points, next best product 2, 3rd one point and least preferred product would be ranked 0. The ranking scores attributed by each judge to each product are calculated, with the highest scoring product winning the Medal or Trophy.

The awarded points will be counted and checked. Where a consensus decision cannot be reached by the judging panel the Category Head Judge will arbitrate or make the final call.

Judges may in their absolute discretion decline to make an award in any Class. Awards may be withheld in any Class where Exhibits are considered unworthy or where the Judges for any reason and in their absolute discretion decide that any award shall be withheld.

The Head Judge will have the power to disqualify or dismiss, as being ineligible for judging, any Exhibit which, in his opinion, does not comply with the AFA regulations. Such disqualification will be final.

The above instructions do not in any way limit or restrict any of the powers, discretions, rights, and duties conferred upon the Judges by the regulations or the RASV’s powers under the regulations.

The Australian Food Awards will see the introduction of innovative results reporting, with scores represented on distribution graphs that will enable producers to see how their products rank against those of their competitors.